Middle Grade Stories

 

Our middle grade books are bound to be sure-fire hits that sweep readers away into different worlds: 

  • Jump into a rollicking adventure about the boy who dares to defy the dragons-humans relationship in DRAGON RUN.  Dragons, Cullers, and zeroes—oh my! 
  • Jaron returns in the page-turner THE RUNAWAY KING, the second installment of the action-packed Ascendance Trilogy by Infinity Ring author Jennifer A. Nielsen.
  • A survivor story about identity in the vein of Between Shades of Grey and The Boy who Dared—PRISONER B-3087 is a powerful novel based on the true story of Jack Gruener, who as a boy survived 10 concentration camps.
  • Kathryn Lasky tells the story that fans have been clamoring for in the newest book in her bestselling series, Guardians of Ga’hoole.
  • Debut novelist Tim Bradley’s INFESTATION, chock full of bugs, is a fun new take on Arthur C. Clarke and Issac Asimov for boys.

 

DRAGON RUN 

By Patrick Matthews 

Publication date:  March 2013

 

A boy goes on the run in this fast-paced fantasy debut.

 

  • A standalone debut from a promising new middle-grade talent.
  • Dragon frenzy shows no signs of being extinguished—a How To Train cartoon is planned for 2012.
  • Magic, imaginary races and cultures, and sword fights—DRAGON RUN hits all the fantasy sweet spots.

Can a zero become a hero?  On Testing Day Al Pilgrommor is revealed to be rank zero, the lowest of the low.  He's now not only an outcast—he's also a danger to his entire family. So Al goes on the run, fleeing the brutal Cullers, men who hunt down zeroes . . . and put them to death.  Cast out of his home, and armed with only a sword and his wits, Al is reduced to just surviving.  As he meets other outcasts, however, he begins to suspect that he is a pawn in a larger game—and that he might have the power to tip the scales in a high-stakes struggle between man and dragon.

Visit the author’s site.

 

 

THE RUNAWAY KING: ASCENDANCE TRILOGY #2   

Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen

Publication date:  March 2013

 

A kingdom teetering on the brink of destruction. A king gone missing. Who will survive? Find out in the highly anticipated sequel to Jennifer A. Nielsen's blockbuster THE FALSE PRINCE!

  • The False Prince has received rave reviews from the NYT, WSJ, LA TIMES, and more.
  • Jen Nielsen is signed up to write the sixth book in the highly anticipated Infinity Ring series!
  • Jen maintains a strong online presence through her website, Twitter, and more.
  • Like The False Prince, this book is packed with suspense and action, twists and turns!
  • A brand-new surprise ending will keep readers pinned to their seats.

Just weeks after Jaron has taken the throne, an assassination attempt forces him into a deadly situation.  Soon, it becomes clear that deserting the kingdom may be his only hope of saving it. But the further Jaron is forced to run from his identity, the more he wonders if it is possible to go too far.  The stunning second installment of The Ascendance Trilogy takes readers on a roller-coaster ride of treason and murder, thrills and peril, as they journey with the Runaway King!

Learn more about The Ascendance Trilogy at Nielsen’s site.

 

PRISONER B-3087

By Alan Gratz

Publication date:  March 2013

 

Survive.  At any cost.

 

  • The Holocaust is a crucial topic for all readers, and is a large part of school curricula.
  • Fans of The Book Thief and The Boy Who Dared will be drawn to this powerful story.
  • This astonishing tale of survival against all odds is based on the true life story of Jack Gruener.
  • Jack Gruener and his wife, Ruth, speak to schools across the country about their experiences.
  • Alan Gratz (The Brooklyn Nine) is an acclaimed author with a growing fan base.

10 concentration camps.  10 different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly.  It's something no one could imagine surviving.  Based on an astonishing true story, this is what Yanek Gruener has to face.   As a Jewish boy in 1930s Poland, Yanek is at the mercy of the Nazis who have taken over. Everything he has, and everyone he loves, have been snatched brutally from him. And then Yanek himself is taken prisoner— his arm tattooed with the words PRISONER B-3087.  Can Yanek make it through the terror without losing his hope, his will—and, most of all, his sense of who he really is inside?

 

GUARDIANS OF GA’HOOLE:  THE RISE OF A LEGEND

By Kathryn Lasky

Publication date:  August 2013

 

Bestselling author Kathryn Lasky takes flight once more with a brand-new Guardians of Ga'Hoole novel!

  • More than 4 million books of Guardians of Ga'Hoole have been sold. 
  • The novel tells the story of one of Ga'Hoole's most intriguing characters: Soren's mentor, Ezylryb.
  • Ga'Hoole is supported by a major motion picture, Legend of the Guardians.

Far off in the ice-choked land of the Northern Kingdoms, a young screech owl is marked by destiny. He is Ezylryb, an owl who will rise through the ranks of the Killian Army to become the commander of a battalion of snakes. But although Ezylryb is touched by greatness, his battle-filled life is punctuated by tragedy—from the attack that leaves his father flightless forever, to a terrible betrayal by Ezylryb's own brother. But the young owl—with the support of a snake named Octavia—rises above it all, rises high on strong wings.  For Ezylryb is no ordinary owl.  He's the stuff of legends.  He's a Guardian of Ga'Hoole.

Check out Lasky’s site here.

 

INFESTATION

By Timothy J. Bradley 

Publication date:  April 2013

 

A contemporary take on the classic creature-feature genre. INFESTATION is a thrilling, fast-paced story that will leave your skin crawling.

 

  • INFESTATION is a fresh take on a classic pulp genre, aimed straight at reluctant boy readers.
  • Appended with Tim Bradley's cool, creepy illustrations—and increasingly infested chapter heads.
  • Bradley's illustrated non-fiction earned starred reviews from review journals like Kirkus and SLJ.
  • Though a work of fiction, the book is full of real bug facts, plus a strong pro-science message.
  • Themes on bullying make the book rich, principled, and timely, without getting preachy.

When Andy Greenwood is sent to the Reclamation School for Boys he expects the lousy food, mean drill sergeant instructors, and brutal bullies. What he doesn't expect is an infestation of weirdly large and aggressive ants, or the itching welts all over the staff and students.  Following a ground-splitting earthquake, however, things quickly go from bad to horrifying. The school is overrun by monstrous bugs, and Andy himself comes face to face with mutant ants the size of humans, equipped with pinchers that can cut steel. Trapped in a cinderblock institutional building in the New Mexico desert, miles from civilization, Andy must figure out a way to save himself and the surviving boys from this nightmare.